Our Organization

Why We're Here

CSSE members work in many different industries, but share one common goal:
Ensuring our colleagues make it home safe at the end of the workday

Our organization shapes the safety profession in Canada by working with its members and partners. This is achieved by...

  • Connecting with Chapters and Members
  • Defining the Profession
  • Innovating through Professional Development
  • Being The Voice of the Safety Profession
  • Being a Resource for Research and Information
  • Leading our Members with Good Governance and Succession


CSSE Checklist
CSSE Checklist



CSSE was founded in 1949 by a small group of dedicated individuals drawn together in the common cause of accident prevention. It grew from a provincially-based organization to become Canada's largest national and most established professional organization for health and safety practitioners. Today, we have over 4,000 members across Canada, the United States, and around the world working together to enhance the health, safety and environmental profession.

Board of Directors

CSSE is self-governed by a board of voluntary directors elected by the membership. The Board is comprised of four Executive Officers (President, Vice-President/Treasurer, Immediate Past President and Secretary), one Education Director and five Regional Vice Presidents. The Executive Director serves in a ex-officio, non-voting role.

The Board is responsible for the overall direction and operation of CSSE on a national level, and establishes and implements policies and procedures to advance the objectives of the Society.

View the list of past presidents.

Trevor Johnson
Trevor Johnson, CHSC, CRSP
Systemera Inc.
Edmonton, AB
[email protected]
Deirdre O'Reilly
Vice-President / Treasurer
Deirdre O'Reilly, CHSC
Halifax, NS
Kathy Tull
Past President
Kathy Tull, CRSP
Richmond, BC
Glyn Jones
Glyn Jones, CRSP
EHS Partnerships Ltd.
Calgary, AB
Tanya Steele
Regional Vice President
British Columbia & Yukon

Tanya Steele, CHSC
Tanya Steele Consulting
Surrey, BC
Dan Trottier
Regional Vice President
Alberta, NWT, & NU

Dan Trottier, B.Sc., P.Ag., CHSC CRSP 
Tatonga Consulting Group 
Red Deer, AB
Patrick Hauser
Regional Vice President
Manitoba & Saskatchewan

Patrick Hauser, CRSP
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK
Patrick's bio (PDF)
Barry Bynoe
Regional Vice President
Ontario & Quebec

Barry Bynoe, CRSP, CHSC
Regional Municipality of Durham
Whitby, ON
Darrel Nickerson
Regional Vice President
Atlantic Canada

Darrel Nickerson, CRSP
J.D. Irving Ltd.
St. John, NB
Robert Montgomery
Education Director
Robert Montgomery, CRSP, CHSC
Mountain Industrial Safety Services Inc.
Calgary, AB
Robert's's bio (PDF)


Powered by in1touch