2017 Winners

2017 Winners

Congratulations to all the winners of the 2017 Recognition of Excellence Awards program. All National winners were presented with their awards at the Professional Development Conference in Halifax, in September. All regional and chapter winners will be receiving their awards over the next couple of weeks at local chapter events.

Awards Brochure (PDF)

Safety Professional of the Year –
Bruce Lang

Sponsored by:

Outstanding Service to the Profession:

Regional Winner
Julian Hogeterp - Atlantic Region

Chapter Winner
Michael Dauncey - Toronto Chapter


Volunteer of the Year – Dan Trottier

Outstanding Service to the CSSE:

Regional Winners

Jan Stuggert - AB/NWT/NT Region
Kim Meadows - BC/YK Region
Karla Griffin - MB/SK Region


Chapter Winners

Deirdre O'Reilly - Nova Scotia Chapter
Treena Dixon - Central Alberta Chapter
Pam Davis - Eastern Ontario Chapter


Outstanding Achievement

National Winner - Sue McLaren and Brian Fisher-Smith
Regional Winner - Tervita Corp - Energy Services, AB/NWT/NT Region
Chapter Winner - Public Services Health & Safety Association, Toronto Chapter      


Special Project

National Winner - Post Traumatic Stress Disorder in First Responders – Website, Tools & Resource. Project Leads: Ron Kelusky, Glenn Cullen, Kim Slade, Joanne Clark and Dr. Ash Bender
Regional Winner - Maxim Learning Centre - Alex Ethier, MB/SK Region
Chapter Winner - Workplace Health & Safety Competition- Ontario Skills Competition - Lee-Anne Feltham, Eastern Ontario Chapter


Chapter of the Year       

Western Nova Scotia Chapter



Most Innovative
Canadian Blood Services

Best Representation of Theme
University of Alberta

Best New Entry
EV Logistics

Best Overall
Shaw Communications